Embedding in a web page

Question and comments on the D-Link DCS-2100+ Internet Camera
Post Reply
jwhynot1

Embedding in a web page

Post by jwhynot1 »

Hi - I hope someone can help me. I am trying to embed the video output of this camera in a webpage and I can not get it to work
I have a dynamic IP address and so I have used dns2go - http://misoft.dns2go.com
I have set the camera to appear at port 8888

I have entered this code on the webpage and I can not see the camera

<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
if ((navigator.appName == "Microsoft Internet Explorer")&&(navigator.platform != "MacPPC"))
{
document.write("<OBJECT ID=\"VAMCtrl\" WIDTH=330 HEIGHT=270");
document.write(" CLASSID=CLSID:85AC0EFC-2CA1-4C1C-82AE-5C31184A13EF");
document.write(" CODEBASE=\"http://misoft.dns2go.com:8888/plugin/h2 ... n=1,0,0,24\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"Url\" VALUE=\"http://misoft.dns2go.com:8888/cgi-bin/video.vam\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"VSize\" VALUE=\"CMS\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemoteIP\" VALUE=\"misoft.dns2go.com:8888\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemotePort\" VALUE=\"5001\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemoteID\" VALUE=\"24756\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"DisplayTimeFormat\" VALUE=\"1\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"DigitalZoomEdit\" VALUE=\"false\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"Language\" VALUE=\"EN\">");
document.write("</OBJECT>");
}
//-->
</script>

Any help would be appreciated.. Thanks
david
Site Admin
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:21 pm

Post by david »

You may have to add user name ad password before the host name as all directories are HTTP protected. The syntax for this is http://username:password@hostname:port.

I am using the administrative user name and password when embedding the video in another page but this is of course a major security risk as anyone can see the source of the page. Because I am the only one using the page I don't mind.

Maybe you can create a web user and use that user name and password.

Read more on this in the dlink FAQ
jwhynot
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 2:31 am

Post by jwhynot »

Thanks for the response.
I have embedded the following code in a webpage:

<!--
if ((navigator.appName == "Microsoft Internet Explorer")&&(navigator.platform != "MacPPC"))
{
document.write("<OBJECT ID=\"VAMCtrl\" WIDTH=330 HEIGHT=270");
document.write(" CLASSID=CLSID:85AC0EFC-2CA1-4C1C-82AE-5C31184A13EF");
document.write(" CODEBASE=\"member:[email protected]:8888/plugin/h263ctrl.cab#version=1,0,0,24\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"Url\" VALUE=\"member:[email protected]:8888/cgi-bin/video.vam\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"VSize\" VALUE=\"CMS\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemoteIP\" VALUE=\"member:[email protected]:8888-2113820480\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemotePort\" VALUE=\"5004\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemoteID\" VALUE=\"15775\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"Language\" VALUE=\"EN\">");
document.write("</OBJECT>");
}
//-->

all i get is Connecting..... and then the camera switches to http mode and all I still get is Connecting....

Here is the code taken directly from my camera page...

<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
if ((navigator.appName == "Microsoft Internet Explorer")&&(navigator.platform != "MacPPC"))
{
document.write("<OBJECT ID=\"VAMCtrl\" WIDTH=330 HEIGHT=270");
document.write(" CLASSID=CLSID:85AC0EFC-2CA1-4C1C-82AE-5C31184A13EF");
document.write(" CODEBASE=\"/plugin/h263ctrl.cab#version=1,0,0,24\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"Url\" VALUE=\"/cgi-bin/video.vam\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"VSize\" VALUE=\"CMS\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemoteIP\" VALUE=\"-2113820480\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemotePort\" VALUE=\"5001\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"RemoteID\" VALUE=\"15775\">");
document.write("<PARAM NAME=\"Language\" VALUE=\"EN\">");
document.write("</OBJECT>");
}
//-->
</script>

Any suggestions? Thanks
david
Site Admin
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:21 pm

Post by david »

1. Put http:// before the user name:pwd to specify the HTTP protocol (CODEBASE and URL).

2. Use the same remote IP as your standard camera page did (-2113820480). This seems to be same every time I connect so I use it as it is.

3. The RemoteID seems to be different each time I connect which suggests it is random. Use something DIFFERENT than is in the source from your real camera page

4. You must use the same RemotePort as your real camera page is using. This is probably the main reason why it's not working in the embedded page.

In my embedded page the connection part takes longer than in the actual web camera page. It usually ends with error "Could not connect" but then 3 seconds later it starts connecting again and connects right away.

Good luck
jwhynot
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 2:31 am

Post by jwhynot »

Thank you, I appreciate your help
Post Reply